February Students – Introduction

Student Programme

HESC offers people the opportunity to experience the Centre in an intensive and hands-on 21-day programme. During the varsity holidays (June to August) this is limited to students (18 and 35 years), although for the rest of the year we welcome all ages.

It is divided into three main sections: Participation, Conservation and Sight Seeing.

The main focus of the programme is on the cheetah, and throughout their stay participants are involved in the everyday care of these magnificent animals. This includes cleaning, feeding, and where required, assisting with or observing any veterinary activities that may occur during their stay. These same activities also apply to other species being cared for at the Centre. Click here to read more.

New Intake: 7th – 20th February 2012

A warm welcome to Cameron and Michael, who joined us on Tuesday all the way from Australia. It’s Cameron’s first trip abroad, but hopefully Michael, who’s visited our sunny shores a few times, will show him the ropes. Fortunately the boys timed their visit well, unlike poor Marnel whose trip ended on a somewhat soggy note due to the recent floods.

Cameron Wilson & Michael Franklin

Hi, I’m Cameron Wilson. I’m 19 years old and I come from Australia. I was born in Toowoomba, about 200km west of Brisbane.  I have lived in the same area all my life, but I’ve always wanted to travel.  I’m currently studying towards my Bachelor of applied Science degree – majoring in animal and plant bio security/animal science - at the University of Queensland in Gatton, which is about 90km west of Brisbane. I have loved African animals all my life and have always wanted to come here; this is my first time overseas.  I enjoy outdoor pursuits, photography, sports, cars and animals.

My name is Michael Franklin, I’m 21 years old and I’m also from Australia. I’m originally from Melbourne, but I’m currently living near Brisbane.  I am about to commence my third year of Veterinary Science studies at the University of Queensland. This is my third time in Africa and my second in South Africa.  I have done volunteer work with animals on each of these trips at various places.

Remember to visit Facebook or Flickr to see what we’ve been up to!
Greetings from Africa,
Cameron & Michael

Leave a Reply