July Students – Feedback

Julie Magnien

“I am a 22 year old Austrian girl and live in Vienna, which is in the south of Austria. The region is very mountainous, so one of my hobbies is skiing. I love  nature and find living in the mountains very relaxing. Naturally our dog always comes with me whenever I venture out. I have been studying veterinary medicine for the past four years. Since I was a child I have been interested in animals, which is why I decided to become a veterinarian. A few years ago I had the opportunity to visit South Africa with my father. I love travelling so there was no way I was going to miss out on such an amazing opportunity. When we arrived we went on safari in the Kruger National Park. I was totally impressed by the beautiful landscape and the diversity of animals. I love all kinds of cats and dogs and so I am very happy to have been able to take part in this Cheetah Conservation Program.”

Lily Salmon

“My name is Lily Salmon. I am 17 years old and live in England. At the moment I’m studying Animal Management at college and made the decision to visit HESC for work experience. I want to work with wild animals on the conservation and rehabilitation side of things, so coming to HESC has shown me what that includes. It has been a good, fun, learning experience.”

Sarah Norman

“I’m 19 years old and a vet student at the Royal Vet College London. I’ve always wanted to work with animals in Africa, so when some other friends from uni wanted to go as well I saw it as the ideal opportunity. I’ve really enjoyed my time here, especially seeing a large herd of elephant at Kruger National Park. If you have the opportunity to come on this trip definitely take it, you will have a great time.”

Quint van Heijst (known as Dutchie)

“Hello, my name is Quint. I’m a 20 year old boy from the Netherlands. Next year I’m going to study geography and want to become a high school teacher. I love animals, traveling, extreme sports and adventures. A reason to come to Africa and work with cheetahs. And I love it. Great experience, great fun. Cheers.”

Amy Clithero

“Hey everyone, I’m Amy and currently at vet school in London. I’m 20 years old, so I’m the old responsible one from my group of friends from uni – Yeah Right! I came with Jane, who wanted to come to Hoedspruit first. Sarah and Nat then tagged along. My highlight of the trip so far is jumping 9m into the Sabie river whilst geckoiing, which was awesome. I’ve got the nickname of photographer, for obvious reasons. I forgot my camera battery at home when we went to Kruger, and we saw the 4 out of the Big 5 – I was not impressed.”

Antonin Laspresle (known as Frenchie)

“I’m 20 years old and come from Paris (France). I’m enjoying the trip and it has been an amazing experience. I would definitely do it again. I’m currently studying law.”

Francesca Sines (known as Frankie)

“My name is Francesca Sines but most people call me Frankie. I am 17 years old and I come from England. I am studying Animal Management at BCA and I came to HESC as part of my work experience. I eventually want to work with wild animals, which is why I chose to come to HESC for experience. HESC is a very good experience and is lots of fun.”

Eliana Doyle (known as Eli)

“My name is Eliana Doyle, I’m 21 and am studying Veterinary Medicine at the Royal Veterinary College. I came to HESC to complete my animal husbandry experience. I have worked at zoo’s, but I have always wanted to come to South Africa to learn about conservation and management of wild animals and to get more hands on experience. I have thoroughly enjoyed the program so far and recommend it to anyone that loves animals and meeting new people. It is lots of fun.”

Natalie Young (known as Nats)

“I’m 19 Years old and live in New Castle, England. I am currently studying veterinary medicine at the Royal Veterinary College in London. My time here has been amazing and I would love the chance to come back! PS – watch out for the fences (I tried to run away from a bug and ran into the fence)!”

Jane Connoly

“I’m Jane, I’m 19 years old and live in Salford, UK. I am currently studying veterinary medicine at the Royal Veterinary College, London. Coming to the Hoedpruit Endangered Species Centre has been an amazing experience that I will never forget!”

Roger Gesswein

“My name is Roger Gesswein and this is my third week at the Hoedspruit Endangered Species Centre.  At the moment I live in New York and am a student at Lehigh University, majoring in finance. I learned about the centre through a family friend and decided to leave my shepherd life in manhattan for the summer. Before arriving in South Africa I was quite apprehensive. I have never encountered wild animals or been close to the bush. This experience has been exciting, unique and memorable. The time we spent with the eclectic range of animals, wild or tame, has surpassed my highest expectations.”

I encourage all, especially the comfortable New Yorkers, to experience a different side the planet. Whether one is taking a gap year, or just looking for a unique summer activity, the Hoedspruit Endangered Species Centre is the perfect start. Cheers.”

Alexander Gesswein

“My name is Alexander Gesswein. I am 19 year old boy from New York city. I am currently an freshman at Syracuse University in upstate New York. My hobbies are basketball and reading. I enjoy a good laugh and learning something new. My favourite part of the centre is my group leaders (Karen and Jeanré and my four favourite cheetahs: Elsie-Jane, Meg, Tinga, and Khula. Every day is enjoyable and the night sky is magnificent.”

Leave a Reply